About Us

The Johnson County Board of County Commissioners created Med-Act in March of 1975.  The service has been designed to provide the best possible care for anyone who becomes suddenly ill or injured in the pre-hospital setting. Units are dispatched anywhere and at any time when notified that an emergency exists.
Johnson County covers 476 square miles southwest of metropolitan Kansas City. The county has a population of over 500,000. Med-Act serves all cities located within Johnson County. These cities include: Olathe, Merriam, Overland Park, Leawood, Lenexa, Spring Hill, Gardner, Shawnee, De Soto, Edgerton, Roeland Park, Mission, Mission Hills, Prairie Village, and Westwood.
Med-Act has a call volume of over 25,000 calls per year and operates from 17 fixed stations
In January of 2012, the majority of field providers at Med-Act elected to join the International Association of Firefighters.  We are known as the Professional Paramedics of Johnson County, Kansas. IAFF Local 4885.  


A Shift On Today
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Upcoming Events


Union Web Design for Union Firefighters!

Member Login
Apply for an Account | Remind Me!